My Mind

Is a rush

Of thoughts 

And a tumult of

Raucous emotions, all

Screaming for my attention,

The shadow of anxiety 

Looms above me, pressing

My worries into my skin,

Long and thin blades piercing the depths

Of my soul. 

But when I am with you

That torrent calms and

Laps at me, 

Your presence pulls me

From a raging sea and into

Still waters.

And whoever you choose to love,

I hope that she 

Realizes you are

A guiding star, 

The North Star,

That lights the way. 

Leave a Reply

